Getting followers on your blog

Posted: January 23, 2014 by Cat Reyes in Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

As most of you know, I have only just started blogging (starting a few days before Christmas). So, thanks to a comment from Cary, I wanted to share my thoughts on gathering followers.

To be completely honest, I have no real idea how I have gotten so many. I think most of it is because I was doing the blog novel. I still haven’t decided if I want to just continue it on the blog or publish myself or check out a handful or two publishers.

I think in order to get more followers, you will want to check your tags. Trust me, they are super important. When I worked on doing the CJ (Cleopatra’s Journals) posts, I tagged everything from the names I used the most (usually Cleo, River, Abby, and Gabriel) as well as what the post was dealing with. This meant that I tagged zombies, zombie apocalypse, surviving a zombie apocalypse, virus (which is how the apoc started), as well as tags like story, short story, and novel, then I focused on the nit and gritty. Sadly, I just now realized that in one of the CJ posts I can tag ‘guns’ and ‘crossbows’. On the regular posts… well I focused solely on what the post was about. My ramble was about why I wrote, why I wrote the CJ posts, etc, so those were tags for that post. Don’t use random tags because that will annoy readers who are looking for specifics. So if you are talking about zombies and don’t have werewolves, but tag werewolves… well, not a good idea.

I can’t say if you should focus on something specific. People like my stories, but I have seen some awesome posts from other writers on stuff like the zombie apocalypse – in the literal sense that I have genuinely enjoyed. So far the most likes I have gotten are for my stories, not for my posts, unless you count the writer’s links and ramble posts. (Course right now I am considering doing a tongue-in-check series of posts on lycanthropes – such as “how to become a werewolf” and stuff like that, to see how that does.)

Another suggestion is to link up to everything. I looked up how to connect my blog to various search engines, which I can’t remember how to do now. My suggestion is to search up the connections to specific search engines like google, yahoo, bing, ask.com, etc. I also have accounts with Twitter, Facebook, and Linked-In. WordPress has options that allow writers to post on those (and many more) servers, so I set that up. Whenever I post, a link pops up on all three instantly. I don’t have to do anything but post the blog and get people coming to see my latest to-do.

At one point, I was writing every day, mostly for the realism of the CJ posts. I haven’t been able to lately – health issues. So that would be my best tip. Write something everyday. Connect and tag what you can and make sure that you tag things that you repeat more than three times (unless like me, you tag ‘virus’ which was only mentioned in Day 1).

Finally, the last thing you might wish to do is find bloggers with similar content. Comment and follow their blogs, which can generate traffic for both of you. And don’t forget to check their blog posts once in a while to see how they are doing.

But, just so you know, this is a tentative idea of how I gathered followers and is not written in pure gold. 🙂

Go back to Writing for Writers.

Comments
  1. I am not terribly concerned with how many followers I have on my blog. I enjoy the few that I have that readily provide feedback. I am not setting a goal of getting so many followers. I just enjoy writing and want to better my craft.

    • Cat Reyes says:

      I know what you mean. I just enjoy writing. I like talking about the things that I like, too. Unfortunately, since I do not have many people around here that share my interests, it’s easy to combine the two and drop them together here. I don’t have many followers that comment on my blog but those that do I enjoy chatting a bit with. 🙂

Feel free to leave comments, recommendations, or suggestions!

